Southwest vs Delta: Which Airline Is Better in 2026?

Southwest vs Delta compared on 2026 DOT data: cancellations, on-time, bag fees, seats and loyalty, with a clear verdict on who should fly which.

Published: by Tim de Vries

Add AeroCorner as a preferred source on Google
A Southwest Airlines Boeing 737 climbing out above a Delta Air Lines Boeing 717 on the runway at Las Vegas, with the Strip skyline behind
A Southwest 737-700 takes off over a Delta 717-200 at Las Vegas in March 2017, the two rivals sharing one airfield. – © Tomás Del Coro / CC BY-SA 2.0

Get the Newsletter

The latest aviation news and stories sent to your inbox.

Table of Contents

Pick Southwest if you fly domestic routes from an airport where it dominates, such as Baltimore, Nashville or Las Vegas, and a canceled flight would hurt you more than a late one. It canceled 1.05% of flights in the first half of 2026, about half Delta’s mainline rate of 2.09%. Pick Delta if arriving on time matters most (80.26% against Southwest’s 74.76%) or if your trip leaves North America.

Southwest’s old selling points have mostly gone. It ended open seating for flights from January 27, 2026, and its checked bag fees are now the same as Delta’s at $45 and $55.

The figures here come from the Department of Transportation’s Air Travel Consumer Report published in August 2026, covering January to June 2026, plus each airline’s own fee and loyalty pages as of October 2026. For the other big carriers, see our comparison of Delta vs United vs American and our ranking of the best airlines to fly in the US.

CriterionSouthwestDeltaEdge
On-time arrivals, January to June 202674.76%80.26% mainline (79.33% with partners)Delta
Flights canceled, January to June 20261.05%2.09% mainline (2.35% with partners)Southwest
First / second checked bag, domestic$45 / $55$45 / $55Even
Bags mishandled per 100 checked0.320.37Southwest
Checked bags handled, January to June 2026 against 202546.4 million (down 21.5%)51.1 million (up 2.1%)Context
Canceling a ticketNo cancel fee on any fareFee deducted on Basic; no change fee on Main Classic and up from the USSouthwest
SeatsAssigned from January 27, 2026; extra legroom sold separatelyAssigned; 31 in Main, 33 to 34 in Comfort on the 737-800Even
US airports served, June 2026108211Delta
DOT complaints per 100,000 scheduled flights182556Southwest
Entry points to statusA-List: 20 flights or 35,000 points; Companion Pass: 100 flights or 135,000 pointsSilver Medallion: $5,000 of airfareSouthwest (pairs)
Operational rows: DOT Air Travel Consumer Report, August 2026 (January to June 2026 data). Delta shows its own flights first and its branded regional partners in brackets; Southwest has no branded partners in the DOT tables. Complaints per 100,000 flights and the change in bags handled are AeroCorner calculations from those tables; the inputs are in the callout below. Fees, seats and loyalty from southwest.com and delta.com, October 2026.

How we compared

Operational figures are the DOT’s own published rates, January to June 2026, from the Air Travel Consumer Report dated August 2026. Southwest has no branded codeshare partners in the DOT tables, so its like-for-like comparison is Delta’s own mainline flights: 80.26% on time and 2.09% canceled (10,647 of 509,605). Delta’s network figures, which add its regional partners, are 79.33% and 2.35%. Southwest canceled 7,187 of 686,476 scheduled flights. Complaints per 100,000 flights divide DOT complaint cases by scheduled flights: 1,249 over 686,476 for Southwest and 4,534 over 816,084 for Delta. The change in bags handled compares the DOT’s bags enplaned: Southwest 46,350,429 against 59,030,280 a year earlier, and Delta 51,140,431 against 50,077,801. The bag and flight counts come from different DOT tables, so treat the link between them as a pattern, not proof. Per-40-flight figures multiply each rate by 40. Hub shares divide each carrier’s June 2026 arrivals at an airport by that airport’s total, across the 30 largest US airports in the DOT’s tables.

Arriving on time

Southwest arrived on time on 74.76% of its flights between January and June 2026, fourth among the nine US carriers in the DOT’s ranking and down from 78.91% a year earlier. Delta’s network managed 79.33%, second only to Alaska, and its own mainline flights reached 80.26%.

A 5.5-point gap sounds small until you spread it over a year. On 40 flights, Southwest would deliver about 10 late arrivals against about 8 on Delta mainline.

The latest month is starker. In June 2026 Delta’s network arrived on time 80.8% of the time, first among the carriers in the DOT’s June table. Southwest managed 65.3%, last of the eight. If you want to know what happens behind the gate on a late day, our explainer on why flights get delayed covers it.

Edge: Delta. It was more punctual over the half year and far more punctual in the latest month.

Cancellations

Here the order flips. Southwest canceled 1.05% of flights between January and June 2026, the second-best rate of the nine carriers behind Allegiant’s 0.90%.

Delta’s mainline canceled 2.09%, and its network, with regional partners included, 2.35%. Per 1,000 flights that is about 10.5 canceled at Southwest and 20.9 at Delta mainline.

The gap is newer than the headline suggests. In the first half of 2025 Southwest canceled 0.95% and Delta’s network 1.22%, with its mainline at 0.99%.

Delta’s rate has since roughly doubled, though June 2026 was calmer, at 1.4% for its network against 0.6% for Southwest. Check the latest monthly DOT report before treating the gap as permanent.

One Delta detail matters when you book. Regional partners flew 37.6% of its scheduled flights (306,479 of 816,084) and canceled 2.77% of them, so a flight operated by Delta Connection carries more risk than the logo suggests.

Edge: Southwest. It canceled about half as often as Delta’s mainline, and Southwest has no regional partner flights to dilute the figure.

Bag fees: the old Southwest edge is gone

Southwest ended its free checked bags for reservations booked and ticketed on or after May 28, 2025, at $35 for the first bag and $45 for the second. It raised both by $10 for reservations ticketed or changed on or after April 9, 2026.

Delta made the same $10 increase a day earlier, for flights booked on or after April 8, 2026. Both airlines now charge $45 for the first bag and $55 for the second.

Each still waives the fee for some travelers. Southwest gives two free bags with Choice Extra fares and A-List Preferred status, and one free bag to A-List members and Rapid Rewards credit cardmembers. Delta gives its first bag free to Medallion members and eligible Delta SkyMiles American Express cardmembers.

Carry-ons differ slightly. Southwest allows a free carry-on up to 24 x 16 x 10 inches, which adds up to 50 linear inches, plus a personal item. Delta’s carry-on limit is 45 linear inches combined.

"Southwest still lets bags fly free"

That ended for tickets bought on or after May 28, 2025. A first checked bag now costs $45 on both airlines, and Southwest’s free bag belongs to Choice Extra fares, A-List members and credit cardmembers.

Passengers noticed. Southwest handled 46.4 million checked bags between January and June 2026 against 59.0 million a year earlier, a drop of 21.5%, while its scheduled flights barely moved (686,476 against 687,727). Delta’s volume rose 2.1% over the same period.

Southwest still handles bags slightly better. It mishandled 0.32 bags per 100 checked, third best of the nine carriers, against 0.37 for Delta’s network and 0.38 for its mainline.

Edge: Even on fees, Southwest on mishandled bags. The prices match, and the 0.05-per-100 lead in bag handling is small.

Changing or canceling a ticket

Southwest charges no cancellation fee on any fare type. The catch is the “10 minute rule”: you must cancel at least 10 minutes before the flight’s original departure or you can forfeit the fare.

What you get back depends on the fare. Basic fares are non-refundable apart from the 24-hour rule, and their flight credits expire after six months, while credits from Choice, Choice Preferred and Choice Extra fares last 12 months. A Basic fare can be changed only by upgrading it, and the other fares pay just the fare difference.

Delta charges no change fee on Main Classic, Extra or Refundable tickets that start in the US or Canada. A Basic ticket can usually be changed or canceled, but a fee comes off its value, and the amount depends on the route, so check the fee table when you book.

Edge: Southwest. A canceled Basic ticket returns as credit with no fee deducted, which Delta’s Basic fare does not match.

Seats and boarding

Southwest’s open seating is over. For flights from January 27, 2026, seats are assigned, and boarding runs in eight groups instead of the old A, B and C.

Choice, Choice Preferred and Choice Extra fares pick a seat at booking, while Basic fares are assigned one at check-in. Boarding order follows fare, status, seat type and cabin position: A-List Preferred members board before Group 1, A-List members in Group 1, and cardmembers no later than Group 5.

On legroom, Delta publishes a number and Southwest mostly does not. Delta lists 31 inches of pitch in Main and 33 to 34 inches in Comfort on its 737-800. Southwest says its Extra Legroom seats, at the front of the cabin and in the exit rows, have “a few more inches” than standard, and it does not state a standard pitch on the pages we checked.

That is why “are Delta seats smaller than Southwest’s?” has no clean answer. Check the seat map for your own flight.

Edge: Even. Both now assign seats and sell extra legroom, and neither has a published advantage you can rely on.

Where each one flies

This usually settles the choice, and it settles it by your home airport. In June 2026 the DOT counted 211 US airports for Delta’s network and 108 for Southwest.

Delta says it flies up to 5,500 daily flights to more than 300 destinations on six continents. Southwest’s international page lists Mexico, Central America and the Caribbean.

AirportSouthwest share of arrivalsDelta share of arrivals
Chicago Midway94.1%4.1%
Baltimore/Washington77.5%7.0%
Nashville56.9%13.5%
Las Vegas52.5%9.4%
Austin43.2%22.5%
Minneapolis-St. Paul4.2%82.5%
Atlanta4.4%81.1%
Detroit3.2%80.1%
Salt Lake City9.1%72.4%
New York LaGuardia7.1%52.0%
AeroCorner calculation from the DOT’s June 2026 arrivals by marketing carrier and airport, 30 largest US airports. Delta includes its branded regional partners.

Southwest carries nearly all arrivals at Chicago Midway and most at Baltimore/Washington. Delta holds Atlanta, Minneapolis-St. Paul and Detroit the same way.

The two overlap at seven of those 30 airports, where each carries at least 10% of arrivals: Austin, Nashville, Orlando, Tampa, Fort Lauderdale, Washington National and Los Angeles. Southwest recorded no June arrivals at JFK, Newark, Dallas/Fort Worth or Houston Intercontinental.

The fleets are built differently. Southwest flew 803 aircraft as of June 2026, all Boeing 737s: 288 737-700s, 192 737-800s and 323 737 MAX 8s. Delta’s mainline fleet was 1,004 aircraft across 17 types as of July 2026, from the Airbus A220 to the A350-900 on long-haul routes.

One type means one set of pilots, parts and cabin layout. It also means Southwest cannot offer a lie-flat seat or a transatlantic flight, which Delta can.

Edge: Delta. It serves about twice as many US airports and, on its own pages, reaches six continents where Southwest lists three international regions.

Complaints and bumping

The DOT logged 1,249 complaint cases against Southwest between January and June 2026 and 4,534 against Delta. Delta schedules more flights, so we divided: 182 complaints per 100,000 flights at Southwest and 556 at Delta, about three times as many per flight.

Delta’s cases can include complaints about flights its regional partners operated, because passengers complain against the brand on the ticket. Even so, the gap is wide.

Bumping runs the other way. Between April and June 2026 Delta’s network reported zero involuntary denied boardings among 49.7 million enplaned passengers, while Southwest reported 58 among 44.4 million. Both rates are tiny, and 3,065 Southwest passengers volunteered to give up seats against 27,806 at Delta.

Edge: Southwest. It draws about a third as many complaints per flight, though Delta bumped fewer passengers.

Loyalty: Companion Pass or Medallion

Southwest’s signature benefit is the Companion Pass. Fly 100 qualifying one-way flights or earn 135,000 qualifying points in a calendar year, and one chosen person flies with you free of airline charges, paying only taxes and fees from $5.60 one-way, for the rest of that year and all of the next.

Its A-List tier is closer to hand, at 20 qualifying flights or 35,000 tier qualifying points a year. It brings Group 1 boarding, a free first checked bag and a 25% points bonus.

Delta’s Medallion ladder is built on spend. Silver Medallion takes $5,000 in Medallion Qualification Dollars, which count base fare and carrier-imposed surcharges on Delta-marketed flights in Main Cabin or above but not bag fees or taxes. Diamond takes $28,000 for status earned in 2026.

Edge: Southwest, for two people who fly together. A Companion Pass flies the second person for a few dollars each way. For solo travelers, compare what each ladder asks against what you spend.

Southwest handled 12.7 million fewer bags

Between January and June 2026 Southwest handled 46,350,429 checked bags against 59,030,280 a year earlier, a drop of 21.5%, on almost the same number of flights. Delta’s count rose 2.1%. The fee changed what passengers carry, even if the airline’s price now matches Delta’s.

Who should pick which

If you…PickBecause
Fly from Baltimore, Nashville, Las Vegas, Austin or Chicago MidwaySouthwestIt carried 43% to 94% of June 2026 arrivals at those airports
Live in Atlanta, Minneapolis, Detroit or Salt Lake CityDeltaIt carried 72% to 83% of June 2026 arrivals there
Cannot afford a canceled flightSouthwest1.05% canceled against 2.09% for Delta mainline
Have a meeting or a tight connectionDelta80.26% on time against 74.76%
Fly beyond Mexico, the Caribbean and Central AmericaDeltaIt serves more than 300 destinations on six continents
Regularly fly with the same personSouthwestCompanion Pass after 100 flights or 135,000 points
Change plans oftenSouthwestNo cancellation fee on any fare
Check a bag on most tripsEither$45 and $55 at both, with similar free-bag exceptions
Hub shares are AeroCorner calculations from the DOT’s June 2026 arrivals by carrier and airport. Delta shares include its branded regional partners.

If no row describes you, book on price and schedule. We did not compare fares, which vary by route and date, and a nonstop on either airline will usually beat a connection on the other.

FAQ

Not by a margin you can rely on. Delta lists 31 inches of seat pitch in Main and 33 to 34 inches in Comfort on its Boeing 737-800. Southwest does not state a standard seat pitch on the fare and seating pages we checked, and says its Extra Legroom seats have a few more inches than standard. Check the seat map for your own flight.
It is the cutoff for canceling or changing a ticket. You must cancel, or ask for same-day standby, at least 10 minutes before the flight’s original scheduled departure, or Southwest’s no-show policy applies and you can forfeit the fare or points. Southwest charges no cancellation fee on any fare, but what you get back depends on the fare type.
On punctuality it is strong. Delta ranked second of nine US carriers for on-time arrivals between January and June 2026, at 79.33%, behind only Alaska. It is not best at everything: Southwest canceled about half as often (1.05% against 2.09% for Delta mainline) and drew far fewer complaints per flight, so better depends on what you value.
There is no single answer, because it depends on the measure. By scheduled domestic flights between January and June 2026 in the DOT’s data, American led with 1,016,372, ahead of Delta with 816,084, United with 755,299 and Southwest with 686,476. By on-time arrivals, Alaska led at 80.51% and Delta was second.
Neither the DOT nor the NTSB publishes a safety ranking of US airlines, and the DOT report used here measures service, not safety. Both airlines fly passenger service under the FAA’s Part 121 operating rules. The on-time, cancellation and baggage figures on this page say nothing about how safe either carrier is.
No. Southwest assigns seats on flights starting January 27, 2026, and boards in eight groups. Choice, Choice Preferred and Choice Extra fares pick a seat at booking, and Basic fares are assigned one at check-in, except for A-List members and some Rapid Rewards credit cardmembers, who can choose earlier.
Yes. Since May 28, 2025 Southwest has charged for checked bags, and since April 9, 2026 the price has been $45 for the first bag and $55 for the second on domestic flights. Choice Extra fares and A-List Preferred members get two free bags, and A-List members and Rapid Rewards credit cardmembers get the first one free. Delta charges the same $45 and $55.
We did not compare ticket prices, which vary by route, date and fare type. What we can say is that the fee gap has closed: both airlines charge $45 for the first checked bag and $55 for the second. Southwest still charges no cancellation fee on any fare, while Delta deducts a fee from Basic tickets.

Get the Newsletter

The latest aviation news and stories sent to your inbox.

About the Author

Tim de Vries

Tim is the owner and lead editor of AeroCorner since 2019, overseeing aviation content covering aircraft, airlines, airports, and the broader aviation industry. Through years of researching, writing, editing, and publishing aviation-focused content, he has developed extensive practical knowledge of commercial aviation and air travel. Based in Asia and a frequent traveler himself, Tim also brings firsthand passenger experience to AeroCorner’s coverage. Outside of publishing, he has also explored aviation firsthand through hands-on flight training in New Zealand.